Rabu, 01 September 2010

Federation Cup: Qualifier fixtures out

The 32nd Federation Cup, India's version of the FA Cup, will begin on the 14th of this month with eight teams taking part in the qualifiers for the Federation Cup proper. The eight teams are the two I-League relegated Sporting Clube de Goa and Shillong Lajong FC plus six teams from the 2nd Division I-League. The eight teams have been divided into two groups of four teams each and only the winners will move on into the next round. The venue for Group A will be Silchar in Assam, while the Group B matches will be played at the Duler Ground in Mapusa, Goa.

But the qualifying format will not see all four teams playing each other, but the qualifiers will be a direct knockout contest with two semifinals and then a final game which will decide which side will qualify from Group A and B.

The winner from each group will qualify for the quarterfinal round which is also set to be played under a new format with the four groups of four teams set to be played across four venues rather then a 16 team one venue event. The quarterfinal round is scheduled to kick-off on September 21. The likely venues are Ludhiana, Silchar, Goa and Cuttack. Only the group toppers will qualify for the semifinals and one of the above venues will then also host the semifinals and the big final. The AIFF is at the moment said to be preferring Cuttack as the hosts of the big final.

The Qualifiers

Group A
Venue: Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium, Silchar (Assam)
15-Sep-10: Oil India Limited - Mohammedan Sporting Club (Match 1)
16-Sep-10: NISA, Manipur - Shillong Lajong FC (Match 2)
18-Sep-10: Winner Match 1 - Winner Match 2

Group B
Venue: Duler Ground, Mapusa (Goa)
14-Sep-10: Vasco SC - Sesa Football Academy (Match 1)
15-Sep-10: Sporting Clube de Goa - Malabar United FC (Match 2)
17-Sep-10: Winner Match 1 - Winner Match 2

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar