Minggu, 27 Januari 2013

2016 European Championships at 10 stadiums across France

The 2016 European Championships will be held in 10 stadiums across nine French cities. This was confirmed by the UEFA Executive Committee on Friday as per what the French Football Federation had handed in to UEFA.

At its meeting at the House of European Football in the Swiss city of Nyon, the Executive Committee endorsed the following venues for the finals in three summers' time: Bordeaux, Lens, Lille, Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris, Saint-Denis (Stade de France), Saint-Etienne and Toulouse.

Saint-Etienne and Toulouse had been left out of the original list, which also had included Nancy in a nine venue list but the FFF increased to 10 venues in nine cities later on.

Before the final tournament, UEFA's member associations will begin the qualifying competition for UEFA EURO 2016 in September 2014, following the qualifying competition draw the previous spring. The draw for the finals will take place at the end of 2015.

The 2016 edition would be the first European Championships to feature 24 teams instead of 16 which has been usual over the last few editions and this means more venues are needed to host the bigger tournament with more matches to be played.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar