Kamis, 19 Agustus 2010

FPAI Announces nominations for "Fans' Player of the Year 2010"

The Football Players’ Association of India (FPAI) yesterday announced the nominations for the "Fans' Player of the Year 2010" for the second Lucozade FPAI Indian Football Awards. The Awards night will be held on Sunday, September 12 in New Delhi and AFC president Mohammed bin Hamman has been invited as chief guest.

The players have been nominated by the Indian football team currently training in Portugal. "All the players got together and nominated the names unanimously. We want lots and lots of people to come to our website www.fpaofindia.com and vote for their favourable player," FPAI president Baichung Bhutia said.

The players nominated are Anthony Pereira (Dempo), Subrata Paul (Pune FC), Mohammed Rafi (Mahindra United), Edmar Figueria (Pune FC) and Ogba Kalu Nnanna (Churchill Brothers). The voting lines are opened from August 18 and will continue to be open till September 10.

"The footballer who garners the highest number of votes will be elected as the Fans' Player of the Year 2010. Last time Sunil Chhetri was elected in the same category. He beat Jose Ramirez Barreto who had to settle for the second position," Jahan Mehta FPAI secretary said.

"I am very happy to be elected for the fans' player award. It is a great honour to be the most popular footballer in the country," Pereira said on being nominated.

Mohammed Rafi, also echoed the same sentiments. "I am very excited. This is my first nomination. I feel good," Rafi said.

You can all cast your vote at www.fpaofindia.com . I have done so and I wish all five players all the best!

About the Candidates

Anthony Pereira: Born in 1982, he is a player in Team India and is currently playing for Dempo SC in the I-League. Anthony is an integral part of the Dempo SC squad and his lightning pace and accurate crosses makes him a dangerous winger. He was part of the successful Dempo SC team which won back to back league titles.

Subrata Paul: Born in 1986, Paul is currently the goalkeeper of Team India and plays I-league for Pune FC. He has previously played for TFA before rising to prominence with Mohun Bagan and East Bengal. In August 2007 he was part of the Indian team that won the Nehru Cup for the first time.

Mohammed Rafi: Born in 1982 Mohammed Rafi hailing from the north most district of Kerala – Kasargod – is the new face in Team India. Currently playing for Churchill Brothers, Rafi shot to fame last season when he scored 14 goals for Mahindra United becoming the club's player of the year.

Edmar Figueria: Born in 1984, the Brazilian striker after playing in Brazil, Switzerland, Germany and Costa Rica arrived in India in 2009 and played I-league for Pune FC. He immediately made his mark as the most successful striker for this new I-League entrant.

Ogba Kalu Nnanna: is an Nigerian football player who's a midfielder for I-League side Dempo SC. Ogba Kalu played a key role for Churchill Brothers SC in their maiden I-League triumph. He has been adjudged the best midfielder of I-League for two consecutive times. He has signed for champions Dempo SC for the new season.

About FPAI & the Sponsors

The FPAI (Football Players Association of India), India's apex football players' body, was set up with Baichung Bhutia as its president in 2006 and represents the interests of all I-League and first division footballers. FPAI is formally affiliated to the Fédération Internationale des Associations de Footballeurs Professionnels (FIFPro), the worldwide representative organization for professional football players.

Lucozade is one of the world’s leading sports and energy drink brands with sales of £300 Million in its lead market, UK. Lucozade Sport is the Official Sports Drink of the Barclays Premier League. Lucozade Sport Football also has partnerships with Manchester United, Arsenal FC and Liverpool FC. Tried, tested and used by athletes worldwide, Lucozade Sport is one of the few drinks that have the approval of the World Anti Doping Agency.

GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare – one of the world’s leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies – is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar