Jumat, 14 September 2012

2014 AFC Challenge Cup: 20 Nations apply for qualifiers

The Asian Football Confederation has received interest from 20 nations across the continent to play in the qualifiers for the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup, which are set to be played in March 2013 with the draw for the qualifiers to be held on 25 October 2012 at AFC House in Kuala Lumpur.

The nations who have applied are Afghanistan, Brunei, Cambodia, Chinese Taipei, Guam, India, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macau, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Northern Mariana Islands, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.

The defending champions North Korea, who have won the 2010 and 2012 editions, will not be taking part as they have already secured their place at the 2015 AFC Asian Cup which will also be the big reward for the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup champions.

For India the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup is the best chance to qualify for the 2015 AFC Asian Cup in Australia, but first they will have to come through the qualifiers and then hopefully the All India Football Federation will come forward to host the 2014 edition and repeat what India achieved in 2008 at home in Hyderabad and New Delhi to qualify for the 2011 AFC Asian Cup in Qatar.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar