Kamis, 27 September 2012

34th Federation Cup: Goan derby Dempo vs Salgaocar in second semifinals

It will be a Goan derby between I-League champions Dempo SC and defending Fed Cup title holders Salgaocar FC in the second semifinal of the 34th Federation Cup at the Kanchenjunga Stadium in Siliguri.

Both sides have impressed in the group stage, but a Goan semifinal derby is a different affair for these long-time rivals with both coaches Armando Colaco (Dempo SC) and Karim Bencharifa (Salgaocar SC) known for their tactical knowledge and creative play.

Salgaocar go into the semifinals as the defending champions and a better track record in the Federation Cup against their rivals having won the two earlier meetings in Fed Cup semifinals in 1994 and 1997.

"We are no rivals. The best thing about football in Goa is that we share mutual respect. Whether we win or lose we go home happy," Armando Colaco said dispelling the element of bitterness from the impending clash. "There are no clear favourite as both teams have good players who can steer the match any way," Colaco added.

Armando has only one of his foreigners at his disposal – Nigerian forward Koko Sakibo – as Japanese striker Ryuiji Seuoka is injured. "You think Indian football depends on foreigners? I am not against the foreigners, but only those who are good should be given the chance," Colaco said reposing faith on his seasoned home players like Climax Lawrence, Samir Naik, Mahesh Gawli to shoulder the responsibility.

"My side is young and will try to play good football. There no pressure as such," meanwhile Karim Bencherifa said about his Salgaocar side. "For us qualifying to the semifinals has been a great achievement and we hope to carry the form ahead," Karim he added.

When Karim was asked to assess his opponent who are banking on one foreigner the coach said, "They (Dempo) do not need any foreigner as players like Climax (Lawrence) and Sameer (Naik) are as good as any foreign player."

Karim Bencharifa, however, has a full house of foreigners at his disposal - Sean Daniel Rooney (Australia), Ángel Guirado Aldeguer (Philippines), Quinton Norman Jacobs (Namibia), captain Luciano Sabrosa (Brazil) - and they could all decide matches.

The match will kick-off at 6.30 pm and will be shown live on television on DD Sports.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar